Angebote zu "Year" (9 Treffer)

A Year in the New Hebrides, Loyalty Islands, an...
€ 22.90 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A Year in the New Hebrides, Loyalty Islands, and New Caledonia: Alexander James Campbell

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: Sep 14, 2018
Zum Angebot
A Year in the New Hebrides, Loyalty Islands, an...
€ 22.90 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A Year in the New Hebrides, Loyalty Islands, and New Caledonia: F. A. Campbell

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: Sep 14, 2018
Zum Angebot
A Year in the New Hebrides, Loyalty Islands, an...
€ 34.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A Year in the New Hebrides, Loyalty Islands, and New Caledonia (Classic Reprint): F. A. Campbell

Anbieter: Hugendubel.de
Stand: Oct 12, 2018
Zum Angebot
Helpless: Caledonia´s Nightmare of Fear and Ana...
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

It officially began on February 28, 2006, when a handful of protesters from the nearby Six Nations reserve walked onto Douglas Creek Estates, then a residential subdivision under construction, and blocked workers from entering. Over the course of the spring and summer of that first year, the criminal actions of the occupiers included throwing a vehicle over an overpass; the burning down of a hydro transformer, which caused a three-day blackout; the torching of a bridge; and the hijacking of a police vehicle. During the very worst period, ordinary residents living near the site had to pass through native barricades, show native-issued ´´passports´´, and were occasionally threatened with body searches and routinely subjected to threats. Much of this lawless conduct occurred under the noses of the Ontario Provincial Police, who, often against their own best instincts, stood by and watched: They too had been intimidated. Arrests, where they were made, weren´t made contemporaneously, but weeks or months later. The result was to embolden the occupiers and render non-native citizens vulnerable and afraid. Eighteen months after the occupation began, a home builder named Sam Gualtieri, working on the house he was giving his daughter as a wedding present, was attacked by protesters and beaten so badly he will never fully recover from his injuries. The occupation is now in its fifth year. Throughout, Christie Blatchford has been observing, interviewing, and investigating with the tenacity that has made her both the doyen of Canadian crime reporters and a social commentator beloved for her uncompromising sense of right and wrong. In Helpless she tells the full story for the first time - a story that no part of the press or media in Canada has been prepared to tackle with the unflinching objectivity that Christie Blatchford displays here. This is a book whose many revelations, never before reported, will shock and appall. But the last word should ... 1. Language: English. Narrator: Kathleen Gati. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/003550/bk_adbl_003550_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Aug 13, 2018
Zum Angebot
The Caledonian Gambit: A Novel , Hörbuch, Digit...
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The galaxy is mired in a cold war between two superpowers, the Illyrican Empire and the Commonwealth. Thrust between this struggle are Simon Kovalic, the Commonwealth´s preeminent spy, and Kyle Rankin, a lowly soldier happily scrubbing toilets on Sabaea, a remote and isolated planet. However, nothing is as it seems. Kyle Rankin is a lie. His real name is Eli Brody, and he fled his home world of Caledonia years ago. Simon Kovalic knows Caledonia is a lit fuse hurtling towards detonation. The past Brody so desperately tried to abandon can grant him access to people and places that are off limits even to a professional spy like Kovalic. Kovalic needs Eli Brody to come home and face his past. With Brody suddenly cast in a play he never auditioned for, he and Kovalic will quickly realize it´s everything they don´t know that will tip the scales of galactic peace. Sounds like a desperate plan, sure, but what gambit isn´t? The Caledonian Gambit is a throwback to the classic sci-fi adventures of spies and off-world politics, but filled to the brim with modern sensibilities. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Rob Grgach. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/tant/008089/bk_tant_008089_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Aug 13, 2018
Zum Angebot
The Guardians , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 560min
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Don´t all kids think there´s a haunted house in their neighbourhood? Can you remember yours? What if, as a child, you knew something bad really had happened in that house? What if you actually saw it? Then you tried to forget it for the next 30 years. And then, one day, you had to go back inside that house?Andrew Pyper´s The Guardians is a ghost story for grown-ups. Prepare to enter the Thurman House on Caledonia Street. You have been warned.... 1. Language: English. Narrator: Jeff Harding. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/orio/000507/bk_orio_000507_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Aug 13, 2018
Zum Angebot
The Darkest Jungle: The True Story of the Darie...
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Darkest Jungle tells the harrowing story of America´s first ship canal exploration across a narrow piece of land in Central America called the Darien, a place that loomed large in the minds of the world´s most courageous adventurers in the nineteenth century. With rival warships and explorers from England and France days behind, the 27-member U.S. Darien Exploring Expedition landed on the Atlantic shore at Caledonia Bay in eastern Panama to begin their mad dash up the coast-hugging mountains of the Darien wilderness. The whole world watched as this party attempted to be the first to traverse the 40-mile isthmus, the narrowest spot between the Atlantic and Pacific in all the Americas. Leading them was the charismatic commander Isaac Strain, an adventuring 33-year-old U.S. Navy lieutenant. The party could have turned back except, said Strain, they were to a man ´´revolted at the idea´´ of failing at a task they seemed destined to accomplish. Yet Strain´s party would wander lost in the jungle for another sixty nightmarish days, following a tortuously contorted and uncharted tropical river. Their guns rusted in the damp heat, expected settlements never materialized, and the lush terrain provided little to no sustenance. As the unending march dragged on, the party was beset by flesh-embedding parasites and a range of infectious tropical diseases they had no antidote for (or understanding of). In the desperate final days, in the throes of starvation, the survivors flirted with cannibalism and the sickest men had to be left behind so, as the journal keeper painfully recorded, the rest might have a chance to live. Based on the vividly detailed log entries of Strain and his officers, other period sources, and Balf´s own treks in the Darien Gap, this is a rich and utterly compelling historical narrative that will thrill readers who enjoyed In the Heart of the Sea, Isaac´s Storm, and other sagas of adventure at the limits of human enduranc... 1. Language: English. Narrator: Ray Childs. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rand/000362/bk_rand_000362_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Aug 13, 2018
Zum Angebot
The Darkest Jungle: The True Story of the Darie...
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Darkest Jungle tells the harrowing story of America´s first ship canal exploration across a narrow piece of land in Central America called the Darien, a place that loomed large in the minds of the world´s most courageous adventurers in the nineteenth century. With rival warships and explorers from England and France days behind, the 27-member U.S. Darien Exploring Expedition landed on the Atlantic shore at Caledonia Bay in eastern Panama to begin their mad dash up the coast-hugging mountains of the Darien wilderness. The whole world watched as this party attempted to be the first to traverse the 40-mile isthmus, the narrowest spot between the Atlantic and Pacific in all the Americas. Leading them was the charismatic commander Isaac Strain, an adventuring 33-year-old U.S. Navy lieutenant. The party could have turned back except, said Strain, they were to a man ´´revolted at the idea´´ of failing at a task they seemed destined to accomplish. Yet Strain´s party would wander lost in the jungle for another sixty nightmarish days, following a tortuously contorted and uncharted tropical river. Their guns rusted in the damp heat, expected settlements never materialized, and the lush terrain provided little to no sustenance. As the unending march dragged on, the party was beset by flesh-embedding parasites and a range of infectious tropical diseases they had no antidote for (or understanding of). In the desperate final days, in the throes of starvation, the survivors flirted with cannibalism and the sickest men had to be left behind so, as the journal keeper painfully recorded, the rest might have a chance to live. Based on the vividly detailed log entries of Strain and his officers, other period sources, and Balf´s own treks in the Darien Gap, this is a rich and utterly compelling historical narrative that will thrill readers who enjoyed In the Heart of the Sea, Isaac´s Storm, and other sagas of adventure at the limits of human enduranc... 1. Language: English. Narrator: Scott Brick. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/bkot/000159/bk_bkot_000159_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Aug 13, 2018
Zum Angebot
Know Your State (Weekly Series Realease #500)
€ 39.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Excerpt from Know Your State (Weekly Series Realease #500): Pennsylvania´s Unequalled Mineral Production Fer many years when the United States was struggling to main tain its position as a producing nation against the competition of all Europe, Pennsylvania´s coal and wood were the chief fuel for the nation´s railroads. The City of Williamsport was the timber capital of the world Oil City in Venango County was the world center for petroleum, and the town of Gap in Lancaster County was the chief known source of nickel. The nickel mine at Gap, no longer in production, once exported its metal to all the industrial nations. In the 1870´s, Penn sylvania´s position as the world´s greatest producer of nickel was resigned to Norway, then to New Caledonia and finally to the Sudbury district in the Province of Ontario which is now the chief source of that metal so important in the production of steel alloys, domestic utensils and German Silver. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Oct 18, 2018
Zum Angebot