Angebote zu "Seas" (2 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

The Darkest Jungle: The True Story of the Darie...
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Darkest Jungle tells the harrowing story of America´s first ship canal exploration across a narrow piece of land in Central America called the Darien, a place that loomed large in the minds of the world´s most courageous adventurers in the nineteenth century. With rival warships and explorers from England and France days behind, the 27-member U.S. Darien Exploring Expedition landed on the Atlantic shore at Caledonia Bay in eastern Panama to begin their mad dash up the coast-hugging mountains of the Darien wilderness. The whole world watched as this party attempted to be the first to traverse the 40-mile isthmus, the narrowest spot between the Atlantic and Pacific in all the Americas. Leading them was the charismatic commander Isaac Strain, an adventuring 33-year-old U.S. Navy lieutenant. The party could have turned back except, said Strain, they were to a man ´´revolted at the idea´´ of failing at a task they seemed destined to accomplish. Yet Strain´s party would wander lost in the jungle for another sixty nightmarish days, following a tortuously contorted and uncharted tropical river. Their guns rusted in the damp heat, expected settlements never materialized, and the lush terrain provided little to no sustenance. As the unending march dragged on, the party was beset by flesh-embedding parasites and a range of infectious tropical diseases they had no antidote for (or understanding of). In the desperate final days, in the throes of starvation, the survivors flirted with cannibalism and the sickest men had to be left behind so, as the journal keeper painfully recorded, the rest might have a chance to live. Based on the vividly detailed log entries of Strain and his officers, other period sources, and Balf´s own treks in the Darien Gap, this is a rich and utterly compelling historical narrative that will thrill readers who enjoyed In the Heart of the Sea, Isaac´s Storm, and other sagas of adventure at the limits of human enduranc... 1. Language: English. Narrator: Ray Childs. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rand/000362/bk_rand_000362_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Aug 13, 2018
Zum Angebot
Seafire , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 630min
€ 9.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The first in a heart-stopping trilogy that recalls the undeniable feminine power of Wonder Woman and the powder-keg action of Mad Max: Fury Road, Seafire follows the captain of an all-female ship intent on taking down a vicious warlord´s powerful fleet. After her family is killed by corrupt warlord Aric Athair and his bloodthirsty army of Bullets, Caledonia Styx is left to chart her own course on the dangerous and deadly seas. She captains her ship, the Mors Navis, with a crew of girls and women just like her, who have lost their families and homes because of Aric and his men. The crew has one mission: stay alive, and take down Aric´s armed and armored fleet. But when Caledonia´s best friend and second-in-command barely survives an attack thanks to help from a Bullet looking to defect, Caledonia finds herself questioning whether to let him join their crew. Is this boy the key to taking down Aric Athair once and for all...or will he threaten everything the women of the Mors Navis have worked for? Pairing gorgeous prose with pulse-pounding action, Seafire reminds us of the importance of sisterhood and unity in the face of oppression and tyranny. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Rebecca Soler. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/lili/003267/bk_lili_003267_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: Aug 13, 2018
Zum Angebot